Spot the difference between Power BI Desktop and Power BI Desktop (Store Version) #PowerBI

On my computer I have 2 versions of Power BI Desktop installed – one from the Microsoft Store which is updated automatically and the downloaded version from downloads – and typically I have last month edition as my downloaded version.

But in my taskbar its impossible to tell the difference between the two.

Well we can solve that by changing the icon for the downloaded version – its not possible for the store version.

If you right click the icon in the taskbar and then right click the Power BI Desktop

You can select the properties for this App.

Now click the Change Icon

This will show you the current icon and now you can change this by clicking Browse – in my case I will select the icon for the PBIDocument

And click open – then icon will now be set to this

And when clicking OK

We will see the icon has changed for the Shortcut.

Notice that it will change immediately

But after a restart it will appear

Hope this can make your choice of Power BI Desktop versions easier for you as well.

3 thoughts on “Spot the difference between Power BI Desktop and Power BI Desktop (Store Version) #PowerBI

  1. Thanks, I didn’t realise I could have both installed! I just lost a day due to the 25/11 update killing my morning refreshes. Still haven’t sorted it out. I had vowed to return to the downloaded version to stay in control. Now I can have it both ways!

  2. I have to have both installed, which drives me crazy, so thank you for this tip! I’ve found the two versions to be identical except for one major pain point… The Store version cannot connect to Oracle! We’ve tried to many different drivers and settings, but can only get the exe version to work. So frustrating!

Leave a comment