Skip to content
October 1, 2015 / Erik Svensen

Create your own Help for all the Power query functions help in Power BI Desktop

I have used a lot of time in the Power Query Formula specification help on the web – and several time for the same function – so I ended up switching between browser and Power BI Desktop.

Then I recalled reading this blogpost – http://www.excelguru.ca/blog/2015/05/13/what-power-query-functions-exist/ and decided to put the help directly in as a Query in the “Edit Queries” window.

Now I can filter the functions by name and/or when I click the “Function” in the Value column – I get the help about the function below.

The steps to create your own table is like this

And for you to copy

let

Source = #shared,

#”Converted to Table” = Record.ToTable(Source)

in

#”Converted to Table”

Hope this can help you as well.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. bda / Oct 2 2015 1:31 pm

    very helpful. I have included this query in my Excel workbook template, so it’s always there in case I need it. I no longer have to to search through the PDF help file.

Leave a Reply

